Maecenas for Erste Bank Composition Award

The Klangforum Wien congratulates its main sponsor Erste Bank for the award of MAECENAS 2019

When submitting our long-standing cooperation project Erste Bank Composition Award for the MAECENAS award, we could not imagine a more precise, conscientious and sustainable sponsorship project than this one.

Nevertheless, our expectations that our main sponsor Erste Bank would be awarded the MAECENAS were low as we could not imagine that a jury - regardless of the quality of the project submitted - would be prepared to award the prize to the same company for the third time in a period of just five years. The fact that this hurdle was overcome reflects perfectly the extraordinary care with which the Erste Bank team curates, designs and manages its sponsorship activities.

One of the most important awards 

The Erste Bank Composition Prize is one of the most important international awards for young composers and promotes the work of the prize winners in the most efficient way. In addition to the prize money provided by the sponsor, the winner of the prize is also guaranteed at least three performances of their new work by Klangforum Wien (after the annual premiere at the Wien Modern Festival), as well as the production of a portrait CD by Ö1 and the renowned KAIROS label. In this way, the prize provides the laureates with a high level of international attention and ensures them a lasting presence in the contemporary music scene.

With this support for young composers, the Erste Bank also supports the Klangforum Wien and the Wien Modern Festival in the pursuit of its essential goals.

Klangforum Wien thanks its main sponsor Erste Bank - and namely Ruth Goubran and Theres Fischill - for many years of devoted attention, openness and informed interest in the future of music in Austria and the world, and congratulates very warmly on the extremely well-deserved award of the MAECENAS 2019 for the support consistently pursued for more than 30 years.

Awardees:inside since 1989:

2019: Mirela Ivičević
2018: Agata Zubel
2017: Hannes Kerschbaumer
2016: Eva Reiter
2015: Peter Jakober
2014: Reinhard Fuchs
2013: Bernd Richard Deutsch
2012: Beat Furrer
2011: Gerald Resch
2010: Joanna Woźny
2009: Bernhard Lang
2008: Gösta Neuwirth
2007: Klaus Lang
2006: Bernhard Gander
2005: Wolfgang Mitterer
2004: Wolfram Schurig
2003: Clemens Gadenstätter
2002: Johannes M. Staud
2001: Germán Toro-Pérez
2000: Alexander Stankovski
1999: Thomas Heinisch
1998: Christian Mühlbacher
1997: Olga Neuwirth
1995: Herbert Grassl
1994: Jorge E. López
1993: Georg Friedrich Haas
1992: Gerd Kühr
1991: Christian Ofenbauer
1990: Gerhard E. Winkler
1989: Herbert Willi

No items found.
No items found.