Composition Award

Erste Bank Composition Award

The Erste Bank Composition Award has established itself as one of the most important awards in the field of new music. Since 1989, Erste Bank has awarded an annual composition award to outstanding composers in recognition of their work to date.

Claudio Abbado established the award in 1989. Under the aegis of Lothar Knessl, the prize has gained great importance over the years and stands for the breadth of the aesthetic and compositional spectrum of New Music.

The laureates should express innovative strength and a creative spirit in their work, which has an equal impact on the present and the future. Beyond dogmatic currents, the focus should always be on the pleasure of composing and listening.

The Erste Bank Composition Award is associated with at least three performances of the prize-winning work by Klangforum Wien. The world premiere usually takes place as part of the Wien Modern Festival. In addition, the Erste Bank Composition Award supports a publication of the new work and a portrait on a contemporary recording medium.

Since 2016, the award winners have been selected by a three-member jury. It currently consists of: Gerd Kühr (composer), Christian Scheib (ORF, musikprotokoll) and Peter Paul Kainrath (artistic director Klangforum Wien).

Photo: Armin Bardel

No items found.
No items found.

The laureates

2024: Nina Šenk
2023: Nimikry
2022: Sara Glojnarić
2021: Christof Ressi
2020: Matthias Kranebitter
2019: Mirela Ivičević
2018: Agata Zubel
2017: Hannes Kerschbaumer
2016: Eva Reiter
2015: Peter Jakober
2014: Reinhard Fuchs
2013: Bernd Richard Deutsch
2012: Beat Furrer
2011: Gerald Resch
2010: Joanna Woźny
2009: Bernhard Lang
2008: Gösta Neuwirth
2007: Klaus Lang
2006: Bernhard Gander
2005: Wolfgang Mitterer
2004: Wolfram Schurig
2003: Clemens Gadenstätter
2002: Johannes M. Staud
2001: Germán Toro-Pérez
2000: Alexander Stankovski
1999: Thomas Heinisch
1998: Christian Mühlbacher
1997: Olga Neuwirth
1995: Herbert Grassl
1994: Jorge E. López
1993: Georg Friedrich Haas
1992: Gerd Kühr
1991: Christian Ofenbauer
1990: Gerhard E. Winkler
1989: Herbert Willi

No items found.


No items found.

No items found.

No items found.

Discover more

Erste Bank Composition Award 2024 for Nina Šenk
Erste Bank Composition Award 2023
Erste Bank Kompositionspreis 2022
Maecenas for Erste Bank Composition Award
10 years Vermehrt Schönes!
Image Gallery
No items found.