The winners of "The Science of Fiction" competition 2020

The winners of the composition competition "The Science of Fiction", which was dedicated to the literary works of Stanislaw Lem, have been announced. In the run-up to the competition, young composers were given the task of composing a work inspired by the science fiction author for Klangforum Wien, which will be performed by the ensemble in 2021 - the 100th anniversary of Stanislaw Lem's birth.

"The reputation of the ensemble gives us the opportunity not only to remind the international audience of Stanisław Lem's work, but also to present the talent of the Polish composer who will win the competition," says Barbara Schabowska-Maszenda, acting director of the Adam Mickiewicz Institute.

"Futurology and contemporary music currently seek to highlight shadowy elements and project them into a future scenario. Asking the right questions allows us to understand to what extent the future is already being realized," adds Peter Paul Kainrath of Klangforum Wien .

Laureates of the composition prize

Żaneta Rydzewska

Żaneta Rydzewska, born in Poland in 1991, winner of the Composition Prize is a composer, master of improvisation and clarinetist.

In her music, she often draws inspiration from nature, physics, philosophy, contemporary social challenges, and interpersonal relationships.

© Pola Sobuń

Mikołaj Laskowski

The Berlin-based composer, Mikołaj Laskowski, was born in Gdynia, Poland, in 1988.

He graduated with honors from the Royal Conservatory in The Hague, where he studied with Yannis Kyriakides and Peter Adriaansz in 2013-2015.

Previously (2009-2014) he studied with Grażyna Pstrokońska-Nawratil at the Karol Lipiński Academy of Music in Wrocław.

No items found.
No items found.