Gedenkkonzert für Friedrich Cerha

Wiener Konzerthaus, Mozart Hall, Vienna
March 12, 2023 7:30 PM

Klangforum Wien says a musical farewell to its companion, patron and inspirer: Friedrich Cerha, who passed away on 14 February at the age of 96. The ensemble will contribute several movements of his Acht Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten für Streichsextett (1995) as part of this memorial concert.

Unforgettable are Cerha’s meticulous attention to detail and utter dedication to beauty of sound, which had a grip on even the most inhospitable territories of contemporary music. Cerha was and remains a fundamental pillar for the musical essence of Klangforum Wien.


Friedrich Cerha Five Pieces for clarinet, violoncello and piano (2000)

Altes Lied (1948/1951)

Deux éclats en reflexion (1956)

Zehn Rubaijat des Omar Chajjam (1949-1955)

Movements No. 1, 5, 6, 7, 8 (Eight movements based on Hölderlin fragments) (1995)

Arnold Schoenberg Choir

Erwin Ortner Conductor

Klangforum Wien


Andreas Schablas clarinet

Bruno Weinmeister violoncello

Janna Polyzoides piano

Ernst Kovacic violin

Mathilde Hoursiangou piano


No items found.

No items found.

No items found.